A SPECIAL REPORT! 🗲

news Flash 2006:0 News from the Society of Energy Professionals



**December 5, 2006** 

The principal officers serving Society members for the next three years will be the same as those who currently serve.

From the most heavily populated line-up of principal officer candidates in memory, Andrew Müller, Leslie Forge, **Bill Jones, and Rod Sheppard** emerged victorious. Their next terms will begin on April 1<sup>st</sup>, 2007, and last till March 31<sup>st</sup>, 2010.

Incumbents victorious in election

President Müller was gratified by the show of confidence. "I ran on a clear platform of political action, membership growth, and member participation," he said. "I'm confident now that our members support this program and want us to continue achieving success in these areas."

While Müller and Sheppard both won relatively easily, taking more than 75 per cent of the votes, Forge's and Jones's victories were much closer. Forge ended up with 136 votes more than OPGN unit director Michael Lohse, with New Horizon member Mazen Ja'afar in third by a substantial distance; while Jones won with 210 votes more than OPGI VP Lanny Totton, with OPGN unit director Adam Habayeb coming in third.

Here are the preliminary results:

# President

Doug LaFramboise 687 Andrew Müller 2.095



tos: David Smiley

(clockwise, from top left) Society President Andrew Müller, EVP Finance Bill Jones, EVP Policy Leslie Forge, EVP Membership Services **Rod Sheppard** 

Society of Energy Professionals (IFPTE Local 160) 300-425 Bloor Street East Toronto M4W 3R4 (416) 979-2709 1-866-288-1788 (Ontario, outside 416 only) FAX (416) 979-5794 society@society.on.ca www.thesociety.ca



## Executive Vice-President, Finance

Adam Habayeb	514
Bill Jones	1,234
Lanny Totton	1,024

## **Executive Vice-President, Membership**

Krishna Rungta	628
Rod Sheppard	2,135

# **Executive Vice-President, Policy**

Leslie Forge	1,315
Mazen Ja'afar	269
Michael Lohse	1,179

Jones said it was a hard-fought contest. "We had different concepts of what the job is, so it's useful to have the members choose in accordance to what they think. There were some really good question-and-answer sessions with the members." His immediate plan is to shepherd the Society Executive Board through the ongoing audit process.

Forge credited her victory to holding on to what she referred to as her "traditional support." "I believe that the

voters have pretty consistently over the years supported my commitment to the Society," she said. What I intend to do first is to pull together people from all the units who I know will work for the good of the Society."

Sheppard said this will likely be his last term as a VP, as he'll be eligible for retirement soon. "I'm very pleased, though to serve for another three years," he said, "as we move the union forward in solidarity not only with our locals, but with the labour movement as a whole."

It was Chief Returning Officer Jim Service's first chance to oversee an election, and he was thankful for the help he received from Society admin staff in running it, and to those who helped on November 30<sup>th</sup>. "I would like to thank the over one dozen volunteers and staff for their assistance in processing 2,800 envelopes and counting over 11,000 ballots," he said.

The results are preliminary. Ballots that arrive at the Society office postmarked before noon on November 30<sup>th</sup> will count in the final results. However, late-arriving ballots have never overturned an election declared in the preliminary results.

Society NewsFLASH 2006:01

Copyright © 2006 [Society of Energy Professionals]. All rights reserved.